Thanks Received: 94
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

trophy
Most Thanked

Some advice on LG

by chike_eze Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:02 pm

Hello,

I'm pretty new to taking timed LG. So far, I've done relative and numbered ordering practice sets. 5-6 games total.

I'm noticing a trend (if you can call it that). I spend 8-9 minutes diagramming and answering the questions. But I consistently time out and have to guess the last 1 or 2 questions.

After completing the first round, my second round (no time constraint) is much better. I'm relaxed and I seem to better understand the game and questions. However, it takes me considerably longer to complete all questions (15-20 minutes).

Result:
1st round, timed: 2 out of 6 right
2nd round, no time: 5 out of 6 right

I want to move on to doing all four games at once, but I feel I need to improve my timing and accuracy on completing 1 game.

Thoughts please...!

bbirdwell
Thanks Received: 864
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

Re: Some advice on LG

by bbirdwell Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:51 am

Why is it taking so long to diagram the game? Are you being methodical or skipping around all over the place? Do you have trouble identifying the game? Are you reading and re-reading and re-reading? Are you making inferences when you work the questions, or writing out scenarios for every choice?

Streamline the process and do the same games you've already done over and over again until you feel more comfortable.

Step 1: Identify the game type
Step 2: Notate the constraints
Step 3: Make inferences, one constraint at time.
Step 4: Repeat step 3

Note that on most relative ordering games, you only need to do steps 1 and 2, and this should take less than 2 minutes. Get more and more familiar with these things without worrying too much about time, and then put on the pressure of the clock to push yourself to perform.

First understand, then practice, then perform.