Q3

shirando21
Thanks Received: 16
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

Q3

by shirando21 Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:47 pm

we can find clues about authors attitude in p3.
from line 45-49, the attitude is not very approval, it is talking about the weakness of UDHR.
from line 50-56, the attitude seems more supportive and approval.

So I just picked C as neutral.

I am not good with attitude questions.

can anyone explain what rule should apply here to differenciate qualified approval and absolute neutrality

thanks.

maryadkins
Thanks Received: 640
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

Re: Q3

by maryadkins Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:50 pm

The key to your question here is asking where the author ultimately falls.

It's important to understand here that the author ends up falling on the "pro" side of the UDHR debate. (The word "nevertheless" in line 50 lets us know that even though the author has acknowledged the UDHR's weaknesses, what he/she says next is what he/she "really" thinks.)

Conceding that there are problems isn't the same as being neutral on the issue. If you are able to place the author on one side of the scale, you should pick an attitude that falls on that side of the scale, too. Is he positive? Pick a positive noun (even if it's tempered by a less positive adjective). Is he negative? Go negative.

Rarely is the author actually neutral, and when he/she is, it tends to be fairly clear.

shirando21
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

by shirando21 Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:26 pm

Thanks a lot, Mary.

So only when it is 50-50 can be called neutral, if it is 51-49, there's an attitude of approval of the 51 part, right?

ohthatpatrick
Thanks Received: 3805
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

This post thanked 2 times.

by ohthatpatrick Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:55 pm

Since we could never really quantify attitude as 50-50 vs. 51-49, I assume you just mean "if the balance of opinion lands on one side or the other, I shouldn't pick neutral". That is correct.

In fact, you should just really never pick neutral. :)