Trying to organize yourself? Not sure how to make real gains? Rely on the advice of the many folks who have been there before.

AnnaC659
Thanks Received: 3
Jackie Chiles
Jackie Chiles

Lack of time for LG/RC

by AnnaC659 Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:25 am

Hello there,

I'm looking for an advice on how to speed up in RC/LG.

I began studying for the LSATs in mid-January with ManhattanPrep Interact: Complete.
I took two PrepTests so far: one was diagnostic before I started studying (score: 152) and the other was a month ago (score: 155).
I just finished Session 6 on the Interact and the homeworks that follow.
In the diagnostc PrepTest I had to miss out the last 6-8 questions on all sections LR/LG/RC. But in the second Preptest I could get through almost all questions for LR. But I didn't see much improvement on timing for LG and RC. Respectively I was left with only 5 mins for the last set of reading/questions.

To add a little bit more about my situation, for RC, I noticed I spend roughly 5 mins to read the passage. I tend to re-read sentences that are difficult to understand and take pretty long in markings things that are important (after reading each paragraph), doing the "passage map," and looking for the scale. I then take 4 mins and a half in answering the questions. I have read it somewhere (I think it was the strategy guide) that its ideal to read for 3 mins and answer questions in 5 mins. But I have no clue how I should study to speed up reading the passages.
On LG, I may take a bit of time for the "big pause" but I think its rather that I spend pretty long to get through particular questions... i don't know how the time flies so quickly.

I'm a little bit anxious as I don't see myself improving on this issue for two months already. And I plan to take the upcoming June LSAT. Help!

Thanks in advance!

ohthatpatrick
Thanks Received: 3805
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

This post thanked 2 times.

Re: Lack of time for LG/RC

by ohthatpatrick Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:08 pm