Share your thoughts, experiences, and suggestions regarding your ManhattanGMAT course and curriculum.
Optimist

Verbal Fear!!!

by Optimist Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:30 am

I am from Minnesota. I took GMAT 2 times - both times i got 425-450 - Quan. part was okay (raw 34-37) but Verbal was the killer (raw 11 and 14) - I am really Embarrassed to talk about it. First time i studied like 2 weeks with OG 10th ed and second time 3-4 wks with OG 10th and PR guide ( yes i wasn't very serious either).

Now I have MNGMT guides (based on OG 10th ed) and i gone through couple of chapters of SC (I do reallly bad in that section) - Still I don't get 90% correct!!! I am still in barely 40-60% correct area!! Ughhhh.. My Goal to make it verbal raw score to 40!!!

Yes, English is my 2nd language - studied engineering in college but never got less than B in English classes!! I am missing something!

I saw MNGMT has online class - should i try the online class? or a on site class would be better for me (then i have to go to Chicago or NY for that)? should I get private tutoring?

I been contacted by those Craigslist posted GMAT helper who do GMAT tutoring individually - assuring me 680-750 scores!! but I don't want believe on these so- called GMAT geniouses!

Is there anyone can tell me what should I do? Can I get higher score in verbal ( math is not a concern to me- i can handle it)! anyone has any success story for me with MNGMT?
StaceyKoprince
ManhattanGMAT Staff

by StaceyKoprince Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:57 am

I'll let students talk about whether they think our courses are worth it, but please do not believe anyone who assures you a particular score. Nobody can guarantee that - only about 12% of the entire test-taking population scores a 680 or higher.

People typically prepare for the test for 3-4 months, studying almost every day. So the fact that you weren't as serious about your prep before is a good sign that you probably have room for improvement.