Questions about the world of GMAT Math from other sources and general math related questions.
AdrianaH256
Students

Smart Numbers

by AdrianaH256 Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:57 pm

Hi Stacey,

How do we know when it is a good idea to use "Smart Numbers". I've noticed that some of your solutions use smart numbers to "guess and check" certain possibilities or answer solutions.

I have a hard time adapting to this strategy - I am an engineering student, and the professors at my school constantly emphasize "solving for the most general case using variables". Therefore, no matter how complicated the variables may become, my first instinct is always to solve problems using a set of variables. However, there are definitely times when this takes me longer than 2 min/question. While finding an answer in terms of variables is definitely the most complete way to solve any math problem, I know it is not always necessary when the goal is to pick from list of A-E answers.
RonPurewal
Students

Re: Smart Numbers

by RonPurewal Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:19 pm

hi,
fyi, stacey hasn't posted in this folder for several years. she moderates only the General Questions folder.

I have a hard time adapting to this strategy - I am an engineering student, and the professors at my school constantly emphasize "solving for the most general case using variables"

what you're basically saying here is 'other people tell me to do something, so i do it'—which is THE WORST possible mentality with which to take this exam.
the whole point of this exam is that the problems are unpredictable, so that you need mental flexibility to do well on it.
RonPurewal
Students

by RonPurewal Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:22 pm

no matter how complicated the variables may become, my first instinct is always to solve problems using a set of variables

here you need to use your everyday common sense, along with some basic observations about how this test works.