The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
pancake
Forum Guests

Should I retake after a 680 ?

by pancake Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:11 am

Hello,

MGMAT CAT and forums really helped during my preparation but unfortunately, I didn't get the score I wanted. That's why I'd like the advices from people here.

I took the test 3 days ago and I got 680, q44 and v38.

I am really disappointed since I was aiming 700+ and got several 720 during my preparation.
I'm wondering whether I should retake and I'd like to hear any advices. Here are severals elements about my situation :

-First, I want to highlight that GMAT became a sort of challenge to me. I started at 580 in December and I knew I needed a 700+. I've been studying for the last 4 months and I just can't accept the truth. I'm not a 680 guy. I've studied too hard to fail so close to my target. I'm not even sure my sadness and anger are about compromising my application. They may be related to the fact I didn't get what I prepared for.

-I'm a european student (non english speaking country) and I'm applying in european program for which the average GMAT is around 650 (no official figures are given). However, my GPA is not amazing and some students from the program strongly advised me to aim 700+ with a high quantitative score. I know, people here would say not to retake since I'm already above the average in a non-english speaking country which is not so familiar to GMAT. However, my grades at school are not amazing and the GMAT was supposed to help me compensate and show that I have quantitatives skills which will help me succeed even though my grades could say the contrary. Also, the recruiting process is not as demanding as the one for business schools. We don't have to write essays, seek for long recommandations, etc... My point is that I won't sacrifice other parts of my application file by studying GMAT for a few more weeks.