If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
Curious

Questions about admission chance for unique profile

by Curious Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:08 am

Recently took the GMAT and got a 740 (47/82% on Quant & 46/99% on Verbal). I graduated from a top 25 university with a history degree and a GPA of 3.75 in 2006. I have been working at a top 5 international executive search as a research analyst since graduation and my internships were as an I-Banking analyst at a boutique bank in the southeast and as a sales & trading intern for a highly regarding mid-market I-Bank. My sales & trading internship was short becuase I spent part of the summer doing tsunami reconstruction work in Sri Lanka.

I am debating between staying for a third year at my firm and then applying to b-school, or going back into the world of capital markets as a analyst this year and applying two years from now. I think that I want to do either i-banking or strategy consulting after getting MBA, and I am curious about two things (the second of which is not admissions question):

1) Which would be better, staying where I am for a third year and then applying or going to a bank for 2 years and then applying?
2) Do you believe that in order to have a shot at associate job at an I-Bank or strategy consulting firm, do you need to have worked as an analyst before b-school?

I-Banking Query

by Guest Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:43 pm

I've worked at a bulge-bracket investment bank and interviewed MBA candidates. I'm assuming that by i-banking, you mean that you would like to work for the investment banking division within an investment bank.