If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
ryguy904

Profile Evaluation - Aiming for Top 10

by ryguy904 Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:25 pm

Hello,

I was wondering how competitive I am for the programs below and what I need to work on, application wise? Thanks!!!

Applying to; Chicago, Wharton, Kellogg, Harvard, NYU, Columbia, UCLA
White male, 26 yrs old, born in sunny So Cal
GMAT - 680 (88%), Q 49 (89%), V 32 (65%), AWA 5.0 (61%)
I'm considering retaking one more time.....undecided, though

Undergrad - State school in California, bachelors degree in business/finance. Minor in economics. Graduated magna cum laude

GPA - Overall 3.79 - rather consistent all four years. My GPA in my major was 3.82, I believe

Work - Will have 5 years if starting Fall 2008. Current title is Assistant VP, although I do not manage any employees. I work at well known financial services institution. My background is in corporate finance and credit risk management. I have done a bit of model building and extensive financial analysis of various companies

Designations - CFA Charterholder

Extracurricular - post collegial, I have done mentoring for about 2 years, and for the past 1 1/2 yeas I have been in a leadership role for this mentoring program

Goals - Short term, I want to go back to finance or strategy role within a tech, retail, or consumer products company. I feel an MBA will help in pursuing a role involved in strategy and finance areas like capital budgeting and treasury, not just budgeting and reporting (more accounting). Long term focus on entrepreneurship.
MBA Mission

Re: Profile Evaluation - Aiming for Top 10

by MBA Mission Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:11 pm

Thanks for your inquiry.