If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
ghong14
Course Students

Please advise.......

by ghong14 Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:44 pm

I took the GMAT exam mid November 2013 and finally was able to score a 750 (49Q 44 V). I am currently a lawyer working in San Francisco and has been thinking about going to business school for some time now as a way to transition out of the legal profession. However, there are several considerations that I would like to point out. The opportunity cost of business school for me is significant. Looking at a pure financial incentive is simply not enough. Therefore there are only a few schools I will interested in making the transition. I would be very happy to stay in the west coast and attend Berkeley or Stanford (although those are the schools that everyone wants to get into). On the east coast I would be interested in Harvard, UPenn, and Columbia.

How realistic is my expectation here?
mbamissionjenK
ManhattanGMAT Staff

Re: Please advise.......

by mbamissionjenK Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:08 pm

Hi there,

Congrats on the strong GMAT score. At this point it is difficult to assess your chances, though the 750 certainly is a big plus and helps. But all we know right now is GMAT and that you are a lawyer. Business school admissions looks at the whole picture of your profile and what you'll bring to the class, for example....

-what experiences you've had, professionally & personally, that would help you contribute to classroom discussions and group work etc
-leadership experience & potential
-people & project management skills
-quantitative and analytical skills
-communication skills
-extracurricular involvement
-community involvement
-past academics & scores
-WHY you want this degree
-what your short and long term post MBA goals are
-why you are interested in that particular school