Does the conclusion escape you? Has understanding the tone of the passage gotten you down? Get help here.
PawanG236
Students

Noun Modifier and Adverbial Modifier

by PawanG236 Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:33 pm

Dear Madam/Sir,
I am studying GMAT Verbal from MPrep Sentence Correction Guide.

I did not understand difference between Noun Modifier and Adverbial Modifier.

Is this difference context driven or rule driven ?

For Example,
1. Prepositional Phrase can be Noun Modifier or Adverbial Modifier. How can I identify if the prepositional phrase is Noun Modifier or Adverbial Modifier.

2. I thought Opening modifier with present particle is always Noun Modifier, but sentence correction guide says present participle with comma can be Adverbial Modifier too. (page number 63 of 6th edition SC Guide)

Example of Adverbial Modifier given in SC Guide is
"The ENGINEER FIXED THE PROBLEM, earning himself a promotion.

So, In a sentence
Completing very difficult project, The Engineer got the promotion.
"Completing very difficult problem" is Noun Modifier or Adverbial Modifier.

If second sentence is Noun Modifier, then what differentiates Noun Modifier or Adverbial Modifier ?

Thank You in Advance.
Regards,
Chelsey Cooley
Forum Guests

Re: Noun Modifier and Adverbial Modifier

by Chelsey Cooley Sat Oct 31, 2015 7:52 pm

If you think about it in terms of what you actually have to do on the test, here's what you need to be able to do:

1. Know which flavors of modifiers always modify nouns, which always modify verbs (or more specifically, which ones modify the main subject and verb of a clause), and which can modify either.