The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
anujkumar_ladha
Students

Need advice on studying methodology to help raise my score

by anujkumar_ladha Thu Jun 04, 2009 8:19 pm

Hi everyone,

I am new to Manhattan GMAT. I recently took the actual exam 2nd time on Tuesday morning and scored a low 520. I felt very disappointed and disheartened after studying very hard and devoting extreme amounts of effort, time, and persistence for the past 3 months with Kaplan. I took a course with them - took all their 9 practice exams (including the Ultimate Practice Test) and had the following scores. Each CAT was taken at least once a week leading up to the test.

Diagnostic (start of course paper & pencil) - 440
CAT 1 - 550
CAT 2 - 620
CAT 3 - 550
CAT 4 - 540
CAT 5 - 620
CAT 6 - 560
UPT - 620
CAT 7 - 550
CAT 8 - 630

GMAT Prep 1 - 360 (very unexpected/scary) = this by no means is not my true potential

GMAT Prep 2 - 540 (41 Math and 23 Verbal)

** Actual exam - 520 (Verbal 28, Math 33)

But, I have to take this actual score as some encouragement that I have improved from the last time I took the test (November 2008 = 440).

My goal is to get a 670 and looking to take the test on August 8. That is two months now. Is this realistic? Please advise. I feel my brain is full/somewhat stressed right now from all previous studying. That's why I do not want to delay it too much longer than August.

For example, how are the 8 strategy guides and would one recommend spending the next 3 weeks just focusing on content and then trying MGMAT CAT 1 to see how I do? I am not going to take a course with Manhattan, as I have already taken two courses - Princeton and Kaplan and have not gotten the results I needed! Can't keep spending money, so I will simply self study every day couple hours = alternate days for math and verbal.