The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
SnehaD317
Forum Guests

My GMAT Story - 680 to 760 :)

by SnehaD317 Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:56 pm

My Prep Story
I have been out of school for a while. So I had to begin my GMAT prep from scratch. I studied for 6 weeks before my first attempt. I referred to the MGMAT study guides, Official GMAT materials. I mainly relied on the MGMAT tests. I was pretty confident that i would do well since I had always been good with Math and was strong on the Verbal front.

First Test Day Experience
I did not manage my time very well in the Quant section and had to rush through the last few questions.
I did not take the optional break before the Verbal Section , and wasted the first few minutes of the Verbal section , worrying that I had not done well enough in Quant.
The result - 680 (Q47 V35 ) :( and even more shocking - my verbal had taken a beating.

I scheduled my second appointment for 35 days later (today !!) , took more tests to improve my time management, went through the O.G problems again, read numerous blog post about test day tips, and just kept my fingers crossed.

Second Test Day Experience
Everything went well! Kept calm and just worked through the problems. And this time, I took both the optional breaks :)
I couldn't believe my eyes when i finally saw my score, and almost snatched the unofficial score report out of the proctor's hand. 760 (Q49 V45) The 99th percentile YOO HOO!

Tips for fellow test takers
1. OG problems should not be neglected. In fact , they should form the base for your prep.

2. Do not be discouraged if score low in the first few tests. Then again, do not get overconfident if you score well. Practice makes perfect. The more you practice, the better you will do on D-DAY.