If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
maolivie

My Chances...

by maolivie Mon Oct 08, 2007 2:19 pm

Hello, I'm just curious as to see what my chances are of getting into some of these schools. I know my score is borderline 80% range, but that didn't hold me back since I feel my application and essays and recs are very strong. Here it goes:

GMAT - 640 (78%) - 47 Q (81%) - 31 V (60 %) - 6.0 AWA ( 89%)
GPA - 3.2 - this is cumulative from all of my undergraduate institutions, 3 in total. Suffolk Community College, New York University, and Stony Brook University. Economics major

I'm 21 years old and have been working 40 hours a week for the past two years at UBS Investment Bank as a compliance analyst. I deal with accounting, finance analyzing, due diligence, etc. I got the job while at NYU because I guess they thought I was smart.
I also work as a manager at a top restaurant at nights
and I also created my own start-up company, accuinvestor.com. We deal with market research, trading education, etc. I have created my own derivative trading models based on mathematical equations. This is my reason for an MBA, I want to switch from compliance to derivative trading professionally. We generate income from advertising campaigns and a book that I personally wrote. I've received buyout offers for around 65k for the site from venture capitalists.
On top of all of this, I go to school full-time. So my life is very hectic, and thus the reason for my low GPA and GMAT scores. I clarified this point in the optional essay

1- New Orleans Missions trip
Leader of my group
2- Platoon Commander
Naval Academy Preparatory School
Elected position by the Cadre and administration
3- Varsity Lacrosse
Co-Captain
4- Honors Club
Suffolk County C.C.
5- Varsity Lacrosse
Suffolk County C.C.
Co-Captain

Here are some achievements:
Professional Achievements
-Anti-Money Laundering certificate