The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
NabeelZ316
Students

miserable score :(

by NabeelZ316 Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:10 pm

hey all

so im just coming back from giving my first gmat Test. I got a score of 530 and needless to say I am disappointed.
Here is the breakdown of my score

IR-4
Qaunt-31 ( 20 something percentile) - I already cancelled my score in the 2 minute window so its hard for me to recall exact percentage without verifying it. Is there a way I can still see my score?
Verbal-37 ( 67 percentile ) - Is this a good score for verbal?

Also, I didnt see my AWA score. Will they still send me my AWA score even though I've cancelled my score?

Quant and Verb total = 68
Before posting here, I read some posts where the total verb and quant score was less than mine but the score of 530 was still the same. I'm a bit confused GMAT calculates this score.

Now, about my experience. I studied for GMAT for about 3 months. My strategy was to go through all of the 8 of the MGMAT books first like really did through them. Once I completed that, started doing random questions from OG16 and OG13. In 3 weeks prior to the test, I mainly did CATs but only the quant sections. My scores were never good. Usually in the range of 30 and 39. But I figured I'd just review the explanations for questions I got wrong and remember those explanations so next time I dont make the same mistakes. Turns out, after doing 3 or 4 CAT's I was still get a large number of quant questions wrong. However, when I would review the explanations I'd figure, well that was easy and why didnt I see that coming? I figured I just need to be able to learn to identify the pattern of questions quciker. Yeah, that didnt work out on the actual day of the test mainly I think because of time pressure. I remember coming across a few questions and thinkin " Oh I'll be able to decode this question in no time " and 3.5 minutes later, I realize it's just time to