If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
karamil264
Prospective Students

Is it okay to do internship under tv production?

by karamil264 Thu Apr 23, 2015 1:55 am

I am a software engineering student and recently I get an offer to do internship at Sony. Based on the confirmation letter that they send to me, they will put me under TV BIZ GROUP, division= tv production and department= tv material control. Is it okay for me as a software engineering student to do internship at that department? I am afraid it doesnt match with internship scope. But as I can remember, during they call me asking for confirmation they did tell me that I will involve and assist the software engineer in development phase. And also I might need to write a technical report. I just afraid of the title tv production didnt match with software engineering and doesnt involve coding, programming. I hope to hear something that can make my heart at peace, thank you in advance.
mbaMissionKate
Prospective Students

Re: Is it okay to do internship under tv production?

by mbaMissionKate Thu Apr 23, 2015 4:28 pm

Hi there! First, congrats on your internship offer! So I'm not sure if you have other options that you are comparing it to? But generally I'd say yes, it's definitely OK from a business school admissions perspective. First, Sony's a big global brand so it will be a great name on your resume. Second, having experience in TV production could actually be quite unique, differentiating from other software engineers that choose a more traditional path, and it may expose you to a field that you really like!