If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
KevinP939
Students

How US universities look at the GPA in Candian universities

by KevinP939 Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:34 pm

Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum. Hopefully, someone can answer my question. First off, let me talk a little bit about myself. I have recently obtained my undergraduate degree of economic from a decent b-school in Canada ( not the top-tier school like Rotman and Schulich, but i would say my school is in 2nd tier and kind of well known in Canada). My overall GPA is "B", which is between 73% -76%, and my last two year GPA is " B+", which is between 77% -79%. With this GPA, I am eligible to apply for most of the Canadian MBA program. However, I want to go to some good American school for my MBA ( not Ivy school like Harvard or Standard, but some well known school like UCLA or Duke).

Although my grade is not very high, I still have overall GPA of 3.0 and GPA of 3.3 in the last two year, basing on Canadian GPA scale. However, I have noticed that the GPA scale in the US is different from the one in Canada. Covering my GPA based on the percentage, I only have the GPA of 2.0, which is an unacceptable grade for almost all the MBA program.

My questions is how those universities in the US look at my GPA. Will they covert my GPA merely looking at the percentage? If that is the case, it will be very hard to most of the Canadian students to apply MBA in the US, considering my grade is not a bad grade in the Canadian university. Thanks in advance for helping.
mbaMissionKate
Prospective Students

Re: How US universities look at the GPA in Candian universities

by mbaMissionKate Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:30 pm

Hi there,