The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
abhasj386
Prospective Students

How I scored 750 on GMAT (Q-48; V-46)

by abhasj386 Fri May 15, 2015 1:11 am

I wrote the GMAT yesterday and scored 750 with the following Split Q-48 ; V-46 .

How long I studied?
I studied about 4 weeks exclusive for GMAT. But right before this I studied for the GRE for about 1.5 months. So if you include this then total of 2.5 months.

What Material I used?
1. OG 13: Do I really have to talk about its importance
2. Manhattan SC: Since SC is unique to GMAT, I gave a thorough read to MGMAT’s SC guide. Manhattan’s SC guide is indispensable.
I think Manhattan is gold standard in the industry and your preparation is incomplete without its study guides. Having said that, I did not do many practice questions. I have a general dislike for any practice questions that are not from official sources.
3. CR Bible from power score .

I also use these forums apart from manhattan forum

(a) http://www.beatthegmat.com/
(b) http://gmatclub.com/

Towards the end of my preparation after i wrote my Gprep Twice i practiced around 80 GMAT sample questions from this website

http://gmatsamplequestions.net/

or

http://gmatsamplequestions.net/gmat-sample-questions/

These questions were from Gprep and a lot of them i have not encountered when i wrote my Gprep . This helped me a lot beacuse quite a few questions in my exam were close representation of what i saw on the above mentioned website . This saved my time and well as boosted my confidence .

Section Specific Tips:

RC: I never take notes for RC. I think it is a waste of time. What I do instead is – read the first paragraph and first couple of lines of each paragraph really carefully, sometimes even read multiple times. Once I’m finished reading I go back to passages only for specific details questions that too only to cross check my answer. I think this strategy saved a lot of time.