If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
Kapatam
Forum Guests

How do you see my profile for a MS RED

by Kapatam Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:34 am

-LONG POST WARNING-

Hi there Gmates.

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post ever. Please be gentle with me :D.

So this is me:

- I'm a 29 years old, male, Colombian (S.A.) citizen.

- I have an undergraduate degree in Business Administration from a well-recognized university in Colombia -Pontificia Universidad Javeriana- but not so well ranked internationally (349). My GPA wasn't outstanding (3.1/4) but somehow I managed to graduate 17 out of 93 students.

-I also have a Master of Science in Civil Engineering from another well recognized university in Colombia - Unviersidad de los Andes (ranked 274) where I graduated 5th from 35 students with a 3.64/4 GPA.

- I've worked on several areas, but for the most part I spent 2 years as an early entrepreneur (I created a small environmental consulting firm, but sold my part to my partners) and got hooked by my dad's company, a real estate development and construction company, 4 years ago. Today I'm a partner, Project Director and Financial Director (yep... its a small company so we have several responsibilities). We develop multi-familiar residential buildings (10 to 15 stories, more or less 100 apartments per building) and I have acquired a good amount of experience as a project director and financial planner.

-Toefl: 114 IBT
-GMAT: Yet to present (But from the GMATpreps and other resources I'm probably not getting anything above 640 :( ).

- As for my personal statement and Resume, they are probably gonna emphasis on my social responsibility formation (a subject I have always looked into) and relevant experience in Real Estate.

- I'm applying to three MS Real Estate courses: Columbia, MIT and NYU.

What are my chances?

Cheers!
mbamissionjenK
ManhattanGMAT Staff