Experiencing a writing block? Why don't you try clearing it up in here!
rikhia
Students

Hi Please grade my Essay!

by rikhia Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:59 am

The Topic is: It is often easier to fight for principles than to live up to them.

This is my first attempt at an essay, i will be bothering you guys with more later!

15th August, 1947, Jawaharlal Nehru, the prime minister of the new born nation, addresses the people, of their new found freedom. No one thought that would be possible without bloodshed on either sides, but one man stood for it all. That man, that godsend was the Father of the new-born nation, Mahatma Gandhi.

Gandhi was a steadfast believer in the notion that we now know as Non Violence. 2000 years ago, Jesus Christ had followed the same notion, as simple as not repeating the never-ending cycle of tit-for-tat.

Gandhi practiced Non Violence at a time when his other contemporaries were shooting British Officers, or bombing their offices and getting executed in the process. Gandhi endured the same humiliation, suffering and exhaustion as them, but he still went on forward preaching thousands of followers who ardently stood behind him. They fought for their rights, they fought peacefully for non violence, they got stoned, gunned, beaten for what they were fighting for, but they still continued marching down for what they believed in. They started living with that principle. It was their mantra to abide by that. The British Raj, started using other tactics to harden their rule. Nothing worked. In the end, India gained back what she had lost 200 years ago, with respect and with grace.