The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
umamakesh.n
Students

GMAT 710 (Q50 V 37)

by umamakesh.n Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:07 am

Here it goes

My Prep Strategy

Total time for preparation : 7 weeks

Background information

First, I am an engineer by profession. I thought i will do well in quants section, unfortunately that proved out to be wrong. With an engineering background, anybody can solve the 600-700 level questions with no problem. It is true that 700-800 level questions are tough, not because they require the use of multiple formulae, but because they require a twisted thinking. I realized it when i took the first powerprep exam before my preparation. I scored a 660 (i was prepared to flunk verbal because i knew verbal requires extensive preparation). It became clear to me that i had to devote considerable amount of time for quants also.

I do not have a weekly schedule to share with you guys, but i am going to explain how i attacked each section. I spent most of my time preparing for Sentence correction. However, in the final exam i think i did not perform as i expected in SC section. But, that is a different story.

General Thoughts

I cannot stress this more. i read it in one of the forums before starting my prep. "It is not important how many questions you practice. But how many questions you diligently review after answering it is important". I limit practicing questions to 1 hour and spend another 1 hour to review all the questions including the right ones. It is really important to review the right questions. A lot of time i have found better ways to solve a problem.

Sentence correction