If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!

Chances at TUCK

by Guest Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:22 pm

Hi,

Would you please be able to provide some insight on my admissions chances?

I had a 2.8 undergrad GPA in Computer Science from a State school, currently I am taking courses in Management/Finance from Harvard Extension School with a current GPA of 3.6 to build an alternate Transcript.

I have been consistently scoring between 715- 750 on GMAT practice exams

I have 3 years of relative work experience as an Business consultant in a Fortune 500 Company, and presently I lead a team of 6 Business Analysts.

I've been part of a few volunteer groups focusing on India, I lead a community Program where we teach kids and help them Succede academically and socially in my community.

I also involved in with a start up for the ;ast 2 years and manage an Investment Club where I run a model portfolio to teach young kids the importance of managing money and at the same time we use some of the strategies from this portfolio to manage our funds as well.

Will have great recommendations.

I plan to apply next year for Fall 2009, Since I already have consulting experience, after my MBA I plan to take the next step and join as an Associate in a top Management and Strategy Consulting Firm or join Investment banks as an Associate.

Although I am of Indian Origin and hold a CS degree all my Work Experience is in Business Development area.

What are my ballpark chances at schools such as Chicago GSB / TUCK/ MIT SLOAN / YALE and would you recommend any other schools.

TUCK being my first choice.

Thanks,
MBAApply

by MBAApply Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:53 pm

It's really hard to say. Folks like you get in, but folks like you get dinged as well.

On the surface, your profile is in range for all the schools you mentioned. It really comes down to how well you execute your application.

Alex
alex@mbaapply.com