If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
JN22
Forum Guests

After scoring a 700 (Q-47, V-40) should I retake the GMATs?

by JN22 Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:49 pm

This probably is a very common question on these forums but I am asking it anyway for some advice. I took the GMATs earlier today and scored a 700 (Q-47, V-40, IR-6). I am a senior software engineer working for a major multinational computer technology corporation based out of California, with a total of four years of work experience. I have a Bachelors degree in Computer Science and Physics (undergrad GPA: 3.5) from DePauw University, a liberal arts college in Indiana, and a masters in Computer Science from Dartmouth.

While I am very happy to have hit the 700 mark, with the help of the MGMAT and a few months of preparation, I feel I fell about 20-30 points short of my target. My scores in the MGMAT practice exams ranged between 650-690 while on official GMAT practice exams I had scores ranging from 710 - 750. I am looking to apply to a few programs in the top 15 . Would you recommend that I retake the exam and try to add another 20-30 points to my score, with the obvious risk of getting a lower score? I'd appreciate any suggestions! Thank you so much!
mbaMissionKate
Prospective Students

Re: After scoring a 700 (Q-47, V-40) should I retake the GMATs?

by mbaMissionKate Fri Apr 24, 2015 7:39 am