If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
gmatmaverick
Course Students

740 with low quant, retake?

by gmatmaverick Wed May 06, 2015 12:33 am

I gave my first GMAT earlier today and scored a 740, Q47 V45. While this may at first glance seem like a great score, I feel very uneasy about that quant score. Especially given that my undergraduate GPA is quite appalling and especially in quant courses, with multiple F's even. To make things worse, I'm an Indian male engineer.

On the test I found the quant section relatively easy but I think I made a few careless mistakes here and there. In addition, I also screwed up the timing towards the end and had to rush through the last two questions, most likely getting them wrong.

In terms of potential for improvement, I think I may be able to get a better score on Quant, but that being said, my highest score on a GMATPrep mock was 48. Do think I can push it a little more though. Verbal on the other hand, I'm definitely satisfied by. This was my highest verbal score but on my last 3 mocks I scored 44 consistently.

I do not plan on applying this year and am instead aiming to apply next year. That gives me around 11 months before I need to start focusing on the other parts of the application including building an alternative transcript, making a career move and bolstering my extra-curriculars. My question is, do i spent a month of that time reappearing for the GMAT or should I leave the GMAT alone and focus on the other stuff? The schools I'm looking to apply to are top 15 American programs. Also, I will also be looking to make a career move into management consulting post MBA, how would those firms view this score?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
mbaMissionKate
Prospective Students

Re: 740 with low quant, retake?

by mbaMissionKate Wed May 06, 2015 10:04 am

Hi! Thanks for your question.