The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
SubirR291
Students

700 to 770 - Thank you Manhattan.

by SubirR291 Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:51 pm

Hi Everyone,
I posted a debrief of my GMAT test day on the GMATclub forum, and it's only fair to post one here as well, seeing how important the Manhattan books were in my prep.
Also, in case any of the authors of the strategy guides read this - if you're ever in Singapore, beers on me :)

Just a brief background - I'm a chemical engineer, male, Indian, working in Singapore. I gave the GMAT in December 2017 and got a 700. Considering I thought I had a pretty interesting profille ( having lived and worked in 4 countries in a 6 year career) I applied to Cambridge Judge after rushing through my essays. I got dinged without an interview.

To say I was crushed is an understatement. Determined to conquer the GMAT, I began again in late February, with a target test date in June. The first thing I did was order the Manhattan strategy guide.

I've always been good with verbal, so it was a question of raising my verbal from a V40-42 upto the V45 that I aimed for. Where the verbal guides were a big help was overall strategy - specifically reading comprehension. What used to be a weakness for me, turned into a strength, and I'm fairly sure that I got all 15-16 questions that I saw on the test correct. RC passages used to be a time waster, instead I started gaining time. The key is just to find a strategy that works for you, rather than the so called 'best'strategy. I would take upto 4 minutes for the first question, but breeze through the rest in 20 seconds or so.
SC was another topic where Manhattan was useful - specifically the tests. I would google the questions I got wrong, and this helped me vastly improve my Subject-verb agreement answers.