Q16

 
ChristinaF532
Thanks Received: 0
Vinny Gambini
Vinny Gambini
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 04th, 2017
 
 
 

Q16

by ChristinaF532 Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:45 am

I'm not sure how to approach this question. I set up a new board with the condition but I'm at a loss as to how to go about making the appropriate inferences to eliminate answers.

Help!

Thanks
User avatar
 
ohthatpatrick
Thanks Received: 3808
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch
 
Posts: 4661
Joined: April 01st, 2011
 
 
 

Re: Q16

by ohthatpatrick Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:32 am

A lot of our upfront inferences get ruined here. So we're basically thinking we still have to worry about


V - O - M - F
...\
.....T

And then J is wherever.

We only get 1 premium, and
2nd = 3rd, (those can't be p)
and
the car before M = M (those can't be p)

(A) could O get a premium? We know we only get 1, so we can't let O be 2nd or 3rd, and we can't let O be the car before M.

Could we keep O from being 2nd or 3rd? No, actually. Its earliest is 2nd and its latest is 3rd.

Since 2nd = 3rd and we only get one premium, O can't have premium.

(We would luck out that (A) was the correct answer)

If you want us to show possible answers for the other four, let us know.
 
AdjoaW937
Thanks Received: 0
Vinny Gambini
Vinny Gambini
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 07th, 2021
 
 
 

Re: Q16

by AdjoaW937 Tue Jun 29, 2021 3:34 pm

ohthatpatrick Wrote:A lot of our upfront inferences get ruined here. So we're basically thinking we still have to worry about


V - O - M - F
...\
.....T

And then J is wherever.

We only get 1 premium, and
2nd = 3rd, (those can't be p)
and
the car before M = M (those can't be p)

(A) could O get a premium? We know we only get 1, so we can't let O be 2nd or 3rd, and we can't let O be the car before M.

Could we keep O from being 2nd or 3rd? No, actually. Its earliest is 2nd and its latest is 3rd.

Since 2nd = 3rd and we only get one premium, O can't have premium.

(We would luck out that (A) was the correct answer)

If you want us to show possible answers for the other four, let us know.

While I agree with your conclusion, I wanted to understand why you assumed that at the latest O is 3rd given our new rule. From how I understood our old rules and this new rule, O could be 4th but would have to be with R(regular wash) . It seems like you made the assumption that only 5 slots are available but I don't see why that would be a valid assumption given it's not a restriction of the original rules or the new rule, rather it was an inference of the original rules given that we only had 5 elements, but now we have 6. Thus, we have 6 slots to order our 6 cars. Am I mistaken in this logic? Would love clarification :)
 
Misti Duvall
Thanks Received: 13
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch
 
Posts: 191
Joined: June 23rd, 2016
 
This post thanked 1 time.
 
 

Re: Q16

by Misti Duvall Wed Jul 07, 2021 2:49 pm

AdjoaW937 Wrote:
ohthatpatrick Wrote:A lot of our upfront inferences get ruined here. So we're basically thinking we still have to worry about


V - O - M - F
...\
.....T

And then J is wherever.

We only get 1 premium, and
2nd = 3rd, (those can't be p)
and
the car before M = M (those can't be p)

(A) could O get a premium? We know we only get 1, so we can't let O be 2nd or 3rd, and we can't let O be the car before M.

Could we keep O from being 2nd or 3rd? No, actually. Its earliest is 2nd and its latest is 3rd.

Since 2nd = 3rd and we only get one premium, O can't have premium.

(We would luck out that (A) was the correct answer)

If you want us to show possible answers for the other four, let us know.

While I agree with your conclusion, I wanted to understand why you assumed that at the latest O is 3rd given our new rule. From how I understood our old rules and this new rule, O could be 4th but would have to be with R(regular wash) . It seems like you made the assumption that only 5 slots are available but I don't see why that would be a valid assumption given it's not a restriction of the original rules or the new rule, rather it was an inference of the original rules given that we only had 5 elements, but now we have 6. Thus, we have 6 slots to order our 6 cars. Am I mistaken in this logic? Would love clarification :)



You're not mistaken. O could be fourth with the addition of a sixth spot, but in that case it couldn't have a premium wash because it would have to be right before M. Not sure if this was assumed in the original explanation, but it definitely helps to clarify!
LSAT Instructor | Manhattan Prep